The road patrol division of the sheriff’s office provides law enforcement services to 11 townships within the county, along with numerous municipalities. The overall area of patrol consists of 674 square miles. The current road patrol division is comprised of three command sergeants, and twelve sworn officers. Road patrol personnel provide 24 hour coverage to the county. Their duties include traffic enforcement, criminal investigations, crime prevention and community relations. At the conclusion of each year the road patrol will have responded to over 3,000 calls for service. Besides providing criminal patrol on a daily basis, most of the sworn officers on the department double in one or more special assignments.